Navigation

CT: Higher fees, cigarette tax among new Connecticut laws

The Day:

A new month brings new fee and tax increases in Connecticut.

Starting today, the state's cigarette tax jumps from $2 to $3 a pack; most bottles of water will cost a nickel more because of an expanded bottle and can redemption law; and hundreds of state licenses and fees, ranging from a pet shop license to the cost of filing small claims cases in superior court, will be higher.